DIY – Lavender Linen Spray

I currently work in an all-natural spa on the weekends and the other day this woman came in and asked me about a lavender pillow spray. We didn’t have any in stock, so I did some research and found a bunch of people have made it with the same formula so I wrote it down for her, gave her a bottle of our lavender essential oil, and sent her on her way to make it.

Later that day when I got home I decided I needed that lavender pillow spray and I was going to make it, so here is a quick how to on a universal linen/couch spray, that you can use with any combos of essential oils that you prefer.

Linen Spray

What you will need:

  • Lavender essential oil – we make individual sized ones from large bottles of the oils at the spa, but you can easily use this one.
  • Witch Hazel – Or you can use alcohol, a combination of both, or vodka, but I prefer the witch hazel since it is less harsh than alcohol and when used on your pillow, I feel like it will be better for your face and complexion.
  • Water – I used a bottle of water, the Atlanta water seems to have a lot of red clay sediments, and I want this to last a long time if I don’t use it right away.
  • Finger pump spray bottle – this was NOT easy to find at a store, I went to Dollar Tree and CVS and they didn’t have them, and then went to Walmart as a last resort and they only had one! So I had to take a cheap perfume and clean off the label so I could make two.
  • Funnel – this is only necessary if you don’t think you will be able to pour out of your container into the small bottle.

Witch Hazel

Witch hazel is a natural astringent used for many, many years. I like to use the Witch Hazel that doesn’t contain any alcohol in it on my face because you can use it around your eyes, the one picture above, is acceptable for your face but make sure you do not use it around your eyes. I also have the lavender witch hazel spray that I like to use on my face before bed. You can use it on your body, like your back or booty, as well if you have any breakouts.

Pour in 6 tablespoons of water and 2 tablespoons of witch hazel into a container, mine has a corner to make it easier to pour into the spray bottle, but you can always use a funnel if you don’t have something with a pour spot or you don’t feel like you have a steady hand to pour with out spilling.

I would put 8-12 drops of essential oils, lavender in this case, directly into the small spray bottle, because the water/witch hazel mixture makes enough for two bottles. I also put 6 drops of eucalyptus and 6 drops lemon grass in the other bottle to make a couch spray. Pour in the water/witch hazel mixture to fill up the bottles. With my couch spray, I added more water to top it off just so I would have a full bottle. Shake and start spraying!

Lavender Essential Oil

The lavender essential oil is great on your linens because it is a relaxing/calming scent that helps with restful sleep. I like to use the eucalyptus/lemon grass mixture on my couch to cover up the lingering dog smells in the home and I just love it smelling like a spa when I walk in.

Let me know if you try any of these! I’d love to know your favorite essential oil combos that you use in your home.

 

Leave a comment